In addition to the above types of municipalities, there are unincorporated improvement districts that have been set up to provide certain municipal services such as protection, waterworks, irrigation, etc. These districts are under the supervision of the Department of Lands, Forests, and Water Resources.

Yukon and Northwest Territories.—There are two cities, Whitehorse and Dawson, and one unincorporated town, Mayo, in the Yukon Territory and two towns, Yellowknife and Hay River, in the Northwest Territories, all of which provide some municipal services to their local areas. These are not shown in Table 34.

34.—Municipalities classified by their Official Designation and Statistical Classification, by Province, as at Jan. 1, 1966

		~, 1				1, 1000					
Item	Nfld.	P.E.I.	N.S.	N.B.	Que.	Ont.	Man.	Sask.	Alta.	B.C.	Total
	Official Designation ¹										
•	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.
Local municipalities	128	29	66	1033	1,659	936	197	791	318	136	4,363
Metropolitan corporations Cities	<u>.</u>	···;	···.		62	15 33	1 ⁸	:;;		`.;;	. 5 168
Towns	667	7	\$ 9	21	178	155	56	128	93	10	728
Villages	608	21	24	752	316 1,102	158 58910	41 110 ¹¹	\$6\$ \$9412	167 4912	58 3614	1,185 2,279
Quebec and Ontario counties					74	38	• , -		*		112
Totals, Incorporated Municipalities	128	29	66	103	1,733	974	197	791	318	136	4,475
	STATISTICAL CLASSIFICATION ²										<u>''</u>
	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.
Municipalities in Metropoli-			_	ļ _					_		l
tan Areaa ¹⁵	2		3 2	5	109 90	71	17 10		7 3	20	234 161
Rural	***	• • • •	1	2	19	28	7		4	12	78
Other urban municipalities	126	29	40	25	467	304	77	497	266	92	1,923
Other rural municipalities	,		23	73	1,083	561	103	294	45	24	2,206
Semi-urban Other			23	73	1.085	5716 504	103	294	45	24	2,149
Quebec and Ontario counties					74	38			***		112
Totals, Incorporated Municipalities	128	29	66	103	1,733	974	197	791	318	136	4,475

^{*}Municipalities grouped according to their official nomenclature, which is roughly indicative of size and nature (see footnote ?).

2 Municipalities grouped under the classification devised by the Dominion-Provincial Conferences on Municipal Statistics designed to bring municipalities into comparable groups for statistical presentation.

3 Includes the 80 local improvement districts; excludes commissions.

4 The Montreal Metropolitan Corporation.

5 The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto.

6 The Metropolitan Corporation of Greater Winnipeg.

7 Designated by the province as towns (54), rural districts (4) and local improvement districts (8); all operate under the same Act.

6 Classified by the province as community councils.

7 Includes the 3 units of self-government known as suburban municipalities; excludes the unincorporated local government districts.

7 Excludes the 12 unincorporated local improvement districts.

7 Excludes the 12 unincorporated local improvement districts.

7 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

7 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

8 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

9 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

10 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

11 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

12 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

13 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

14 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

15 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

16 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

17 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

18 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

19 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

10 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

10 Excludes the unincorporated local improvement districts.

11 Excludes the unincorporated improvement districts.

12 Excludes the unincorporated local improvement districts.

15 Excludes the unincorporated local improvement dis